+94 25-2236760

The Council consists of 16 members and works as the executive body and authority on discipline and administration. The composition of the Council is made up with the academic staff representatives including the Deans of the University and externally appointed distinguished members. Vice Chancellor is the Chairman of the Council and works as the Officer who is empowered as per the provisions of University Act, and implements and fulfills the tasks and duties through the Council.

        • Committees under the Council
  • Financial Committee
  • Auditing and Management Committee
  • Tender Board
  • Minor Tender Board
  • Technical Committee
  • Management Board of the Vice Chancellor’s Fund
  • Student Admission Committee
  • Student Welfare Committee

Council Members


Ven. Senior Professor Kanattegoda Saddaratana Anunayaka Thero

Chairman - Vice Chancellor
Ven. Kadawathgama Piyarathana

Ven. Dr. Kadawathgama Piyarathana Nayaka Thero

The Dean (Faculty of Buddhist Studies)
Ven. Gallwewa Wimalakhanthi

Ven. Dr. Galwewe Wimalakhanthi Thero

The Dean (Faculty of Languages and Cultural Studies)
Ven. Kirama Wimalatissa

Ven. Kirama Wimalathissa Thero

Head (Department of Buddhist & Pali Studies)
Ven. Udugampola Gunananda

Ven Dr. Udugampola Gunananda Thero

Head (Department of Social Sciences & Comparative Studies)
Mr Somarathna

Mr.Somaratne Vidanapathirana

Secretary Ministry of Buddhasasana Religious and Cultural Affairs
Mrs. Anoja

Mrs. Anoja P. Guruge

Additional Secretary (Administration and Finance), Ministry of Education
Mr. Ranathunga

Mr.R.M.D.K.G.N.B. Ranathunga

Additional Director General, Ministry of Finance

Ven. Dr. Niyangoda Wijithasiri Anunayaka Thero


Ven. Anamaduwe Sri Dhammadhassi Anunayaka Thero


Ven. Emeritus Professor Kandegoda Wimaladhamma Anunayaka Thero.

Aththangane sasanarathana himi2

Ven. Aththangane Sasanarathana Nayaka Thero

Dodampahala Rahula Thero

Ven. Dodampahala Sri Rahula Thero


Emeritus Prof. Gamini Senanayake


Prof. B. A. Karunarathne

Jayalath Muttettuwegedara

Mr. Jayalath Muththettuwegedara

cement texture

Mr. Vitharanage Don Kithsiri

Registrar – Secretary