+94 25-2236760

Ven. Baladora Indrajothi Thero

Head of the Department​

The Department of Languages has been established as one of the two departments under the Faculty of Languages and Cultural Studies of the Bhiksu University of Sri Lanka. The Department of Languages is mainly responsible for conducting degree courses for the subjects Sanskrit (General and Hons.), Sinhala and English (General) including Foundation Course for improving the writing skills of both Sinhala and English medium students. Non-credit course Compulsory English for all the students of the University is facilitated by English Language Teaching Unit (ELTU) attached to the Department. The Department of Languages at present provides its service to develop the language skills of the University student monks even by conducting Certificate Courses in Tamil, Chinese and Japanese. A Language Lab has been established under this Department to enhance the language skills of the student monks.