• Leave Application | Approval
  • Undergraduate Programmes


    Undergraduate Programmes

    Degree Programme

    Department of Languages

    Ven. Prof. AlahenegamaSumanarathana is working the Head of the Department of Languages at present and the Department provides its service to develop the language skills of the University student monks of the Unversity.
    Main Course Unit offered by the Department

    1. Sanskrit (B.A. General)
    2. Sinhala (B.A. General)
    3. English (B.A. General)

    Foundation Courses

    1. Writing Skills (for Sinhala Medium students)
    2. Writing Skills (for English Medium students)
    3. Compulsory English (Non-credit Course Unit for all students)

    Certificate Courses

    1. Certificate Course in Japanese (for selected group of students in the second and third year)
    2. Tamil Certificate Course (for selected group of students in the first and second year)
    3. Certificate Course in Chinese
        1. Certificate Course in Chinese 1 (for all students except first year)
        2. Certificate Course in Chinese II (for those who passed the first year certificate course)

    For the purpose of improving language skill, a Language Lab has been established under this Department and the studies at the Language Lab are done with the approval of the Head of the Department and the direction of the relevant lecturer.

    Department of Social Sciences and Comparative Studies

    Senior Lecturer Ven. Wewala Dhammaloka is acting as the Head of the Department of Social Sciences and Comparative Studies at present. This Department functions for the improvement of students’ practical knowledgeof Buddhism. This Department facilitates the students to improve their practical knowledge and skills through subject related researches, workshops, training and excavations, and to developtheir knowledge pertaining to Social Sciences and researches; it encourages the student community to study Buddhism comparatively. There are 13 academic staff members of this Department.
    Under this Department, B.A. (General/Hon.) and Educational Science (Hon.) degrees are offered. The Department has introduced 8 course units and one Foundation Course.
    Main Course Units

    1. Archaeology - (General)
    2. Educational Science - B.Ed.
    3. Library and Information Science - (General)
    4. Heritage Management - (General)
    5. Psychology - (General)
    6. Philosophy - (General)
    7. History - (General)
    8. Sociology - (General)

    Foundation Course (FND)

    1. Logic and Scientific Method