• Leave Application | Approval
  • Message from the Dean

    Message from the Dean

    The Buddhasravaka Bhiksu University which was established under the Act No. 26 of 1996 was re-established as the Bhiksu University of Sri Lanka under the amendment of the Act in 2012. Establishing faculties in the University is considered a significant step. According to the new Act of the University, the faculty of Languages and Cultural Studies was established for languages and social sciences. Ven. Prof. Waradivela Wijayasumana Nayaka Thero was appointed as the first Dean of the Faculty in 2012.

    Two Departments are functioning under the Faculty of Languages and Cultural Sciences. The Department of Languages offers Sinhala, Sanskrit, Tamil, English, Chinese and Japanese courses while the Department of Social Sciences offers courses in Education Science, Library and Information Science, Sociology, Psychology, Philosophy, Archaeology, History and Heritage Management for the internal programme. Sanskrit, Archaeology, and subjects of Education Science related to Buddhist Studies, have been recommended for the Honours Degree. The Faculty consists of an English Language Teaching Unit (ELTU) and will be established as a Department of English Language Teaching (DELT) in future. The Unit of Postgraduate, External Degrees and Extension Courses and the Quality Assuarace Unit also function under the Faculty of Languages and Cultural Studies.

    The objective of the Faculty is to produce Buddhist monks who are knowledgeable, competent, skillful and qualified in the knowledge of languages and social sciences to impart the philosophy of Buddhism to the global society.

    Ven. Galwawe Wimalakhanthi Thero
    Faculty of Language and Cultural Studies