Faculty of Buddhist studies is the prime Faculty of the Bhiksu University of Sri Lanka as, aims and objectives of the University mainly depend on the Faculty. The Faculty is comprised two departments, Department of Buddhist & Pali Studies and Department of Practical Buddhist Studies. Department of Buddhist & Pali Studies is the major department of the University. Buddhist Philosophy, Buddhist Civilization and Pali Languages have been teaching by the Department in both Sinhala and English media. Buddhist Philosophy is the compulsory discipline for the each and every student of the University. Department of Practical Buddhist Studies is the responsible for application of Buddhist teachings such as meditation and other requisites that are necessary for the Buddhist Monks.