Supreme Council

The Supreme Council consists of 13 members including the Chief Prelates of the three Buddhist Sects (Nikaya). One of the Chief Prelates is appointed as the Chancellor of the University by the President of Sri Lanka from time to time and he works as the Chairman of this Council. The tenure of the Chancellor is two years.

Most Venerable Warakagoda Dhammasidhdhi Sri Pagngnananda Gnanarathanabhidhana Mahanayaka Thero – The Mahanayaka Thero of the Asgiri Chapter of the Shyamopali Maha Nikaya. - Maha Mahopadya Thero


Most Venerable Thibbatuwawe Sri Sidhdhartha Sumangala Thero, Mahanayaka Thero of the Malwatta Chapter of the Syamopali Maha Nikaya


Most Venerable Karagoda Uyangoda Maithree Moorthi Maha Nayaka Thero, Chairperson of the Sri Lanka Amrapura Maha Nikaya


Most Venerable Aggamaha Pandita Makulawe Wimala Thera, Mahanayaka of Sri Lanka Ramagngna Maha Nikaya


Most Ven. Pallegama Hemarathana Nayaka Thero of Atamastana Temples


Snr. Prof. Ven.Kanattegoda Saddharatana Anunayaka Thera, Vice Chancellor


Most Venerable Trincomalee Ananda Mahanayaka Thero


Most. Ven. Prof. Kotapiiye Rahula Anunayaka Thero


Most Venerable Madagama Dhammananda Thero


Most Ven. Ankumbure Pemawansa Anunayaka Thero


Most Ven. Nugethenne Pagngnananda Nayaka Thero


Prof. S. D. Nanda Dharmarathna


Mr. H. S. Harschandra


Mr. Vitharanage Don Kithsiri - Registrar - Secretary