The Council consists of 16 members and works as the executive body and authority on discipline and administration. The composition of the Council is made up with the academic staff representatives including the Deans of the University and externally appointed distinguished members. Vice Chancellor is the Chairman of the Council and works as the Officer who is empowered as per the provisions of University Act, and implements and fulfills the tasks and duties through the Council.

        • Committees under the Council
  • Financial Committee
  • Auditing and Management Committee
  • Tender Board
  • Minor Tender Board
  • Technical Committee
  • Management Board of the Vice Chancellor’s Fund
  • Student Admission Committee
  • Student Welfare Committee

Ven. Senior Professor Kanattegoda Saddaratana Anunayaka Thero (Chairman)
Vice Chancellor of Bhiksu University of Sri Lanka.


Ven. Dr. Kadawathgama Piyarathana Thero
The Dean (Faculty of Buddhist Studies).


Ven. Galwewe Wimalakhanthi Thero
The Dean (Faculty of Languages and Cultural Studies Buddhist Studies).


Ven. Kirama Wimalathissa Thero
Head of the Department of Buddhist & Pali Studies.


Ven. Dr. Udugampola Gunananda
Head of the Department of Social Sciences & Comparative Studies.


Mr. Somarathna Widanapathirana, Secretary, Ministry of Buddhasasana, Cultural and Religious Affairs


Mrs. Anoja P. Guruge - Additional Secretary (Administration and Finance), Ministry of Education


Mr. R. M. D. K. G. N. B. Ranathunga, Additional Director General, Ministry of Finance


Ven. Dr. Niyangoda Wijithasiri Anunayaka Thero


Ven. Anamaduwe Sri Dhammadhassi Anunayaka Thero


Ven. Snr. Professor Kandegoda Wimaladhamma Anunayaka Thero.


Ven. Aththangane Sasanarathana Nayaka Thero


Ven. Dodampahala Sri Rahula Thero


Prof. Gamini Senanayaka


Prof. B. A. Karunarathna


Mr. Jayalath Muththettuwegedara


Mr. Vitharanage Don Kithsiri - Registrar - (Secretary to the Council)